On behalf of the author, the following is the new official rule, it's not an optional rule (but the old rule can now be considered an optional rule).
When playing with the Cities & Knights of Catan expansion, the robber is not moved until after the barbarians have reached the island and raided Catan at least once. The robber does not move when a "7" is rolled, and you may not steal a card from another player. You also may not move the robber with a knight, or with any progress card that normally allows you to move the robber.
When a "7" is rolled, all players must still check to see if they have too many cards in their hand. If they do, then they must still discard half of them to the bank. Only the movement of the robber pawn is affected by this new rule.
This rule also applies to the pirate ship, if you are combining the Seafarers of Catan expansion with Cities & Knights.
Once the barbarians attack Catan, all of the normal rules for the robber (and pirate) apply. The robber begins to take effect immediately after the first barbarian attack. So, if you roll a "7" on the same turn as the first barbarian invasion, then you will move the robber that turn (the result of the production dice is always resolved after the event die).
|Posted January 21st, 2004|